Located at the corner of Monroe and Call Streets, St. John’s Episcopal Church is an oasis in a bustling downtown Tallahassee. This Gothic Revival church, completed in 1881 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is sheltered under magnificent oaks beside the Messer Garden. In addition to the sanctuary, the property encompasses a wing of meeting rooms, classrooms and offices; the chapel, parish hall and lounge; and finally, the choir rooms and sacristies. All surround a quiet garden perfect for events and receptions.
Across Calhoun Street is a partial block owned by the church that includes two buildings (one rented, the other unoccupied at present) and two church parking lots. Four blocks west of the church is the St. John’s Cemetery. This five-acre piece of property was purchased in 1839. The first burial was recorded in 1840. When the cemetery was originally established, plots were purchased by St. John’s families and these are the people buried there today. Running out of burial space led to the establishment in 2014 of the columbarium and memory garden located on the church property.
The most recent Capital Campaign enabled the church to renovate and restore the historic sanctuary and bell tower. Repurposing a number of rooms created more workable spaces equipped with the latest technology. One of our main gathering spaces is now home to a stunning triptych painting by nationally renowned local artist Ron Yrabedra. From Eden to Gethsemane was a gift from a pair of generous parishioners. In addition to serving as a built-in education piece, the artwork has greatly enhanced the beauty of Alfriend Hall, a popular church and community gathering spot that doubles as the St. John’s Lively Café on weekdays. Additional amenities and improvements throughout our historic church campus put St. John’s in an excellent position of being up to date and comfortable.